Midterm Project Self-critique

  1. How could you’ve been more successful in designing for your target audience and for the goals of the client?

I think that I could have made it more dynamic as far as trying to appeal to a younger audience. I was trying to make it universally appealing so that people of all ages are drawn                                to it but, really, the site could be more modern-looking. Also, the color palette could have contained more contrasting colors so as to create more visual interest.

2. What’s your greatest design challenge? (for example, is it color? or typography, or something else? ) What is your biggest technical challenge?

I would say that the biggest design challenge was color and finding the right imagery to go with my color palette. My biggest technical challenge was the secondary navigation. I wanted to insert dividing lines between the links but I couldn’t get them to space apart evenly.

3.  If you had an opportunity to continue working on this design, what changes would you make?

I would make the secondary navigation look exactly the way I intended. I’d reduce the size of the main image slider on the home page in order to make more content visible above the fold. I’d add two more links to the main navigation so that more info is accessible and the main navigation is better utilized.

4. What did you learn about your own design work from critiquing other students’ midterm projects?

I learned that I spend more time making sure everything is perfectly uniform, aligned correctly, and that everything works perfectly. Perhaps I should focus on making the actual layout and design and color palette perfect (or as good as it possibly can be) first before worrying about these other things.

Leave a comment