GD 66: Favorite Websites

http://melissahie.com/    I found this site while browsing through various design portfolios.  To me, it’s playful, fun, yet clean and professional. I love the bright colors she used as they are really eye-catching. Yet, they never seem to be a strain on they eye. But, most of all, I love the navigation interface. It really makes you feel like you’re looking at the site from a bird’s eye point of view. And, to me, the best part of this type of navigation is that there’s no waiting around for pages to load.

http://www.marionela.com.br/site/marionela/    Believe it or not, this site was actually created using WordPress. While there’s not much to it, navigation-wise, I enjoy its clean, elegant feel. And, since it’s a fashion website, I think it perfectly fits the theme. I feel like I’m flipping through an expensive fashion magazine when navigating through the photos. I have a friend (not experienced in web design) who used WordPress for his photography website and it also has a clean, professional look to it. I’m curious as to the advantages/disadvantages of using WordPress as opposed to Dreamweaver. Is it that you have to use one of their WordPress templates and you can’t create a website from scratch? Any comments are welcome!

http://realwebdesigns.com/   This is also a website that was created using WordPress. Although, at first, it may appear busy, (although not compared to many websites out there) it has a pretty user-friendly interface. Visually, I’m really drawn to the pencil sketch look (you can also change the theme to color!) I also like the unassuming type that was chosen. It helps create a warm and inviting atmosphere. I appreciate the fact that they could have created links for certain tabs (e.g., About, Services) but they chose instead to just list this info on the bottom of the home page. That way, when you do need to click on a link, you don’t have to sift through many of them to find what you want. I also like the carousel showcasing their latest projects that you can stop or start. All in all, a great-looking, user-friendly website.